Dioceses in the Province of Canada

Canons of the Province of Canada

Webmaster Team

Archives past Synod and Council meeting documents

The Anglican Church of Canada

L’Église anglicane du Canada

The Province of Canada

The Metropolitical Cross One of four provinces in the Anglican Church of Canada, the Ecclesiastical Province of Canada was founded in 1860, and thus predates the national structure by three decades.

The Province currently includes seven dioceses: Montreal, Quebec, Fredericton, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, Western Newfoundland, Central Newfoundland and Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador. Provincial Synod meets every three years in order to provide opportunities for fellowship, for discussion, and for co-operation in the mission of the Church in this Province.

The Province of Canada represents the first effort to enable dioceses in Canada to meet together and to organize our common life and work. Created by Royal Letters Patent, with authority to meet in Synod and to enact canonical legislation, the Province of Canada pre-dates the formation of the Anglican Church of Canada. As a province within the national Anglican Church of Canada, we are analogous to the provinces of Canterbury or York in England, or the several provinces within the Episcopal Church USA. We believe that we are the first such province to launch a web site.

We invite you to visit our site and discover more about our Province. The links at the left of each page will guide you.

See our Coat of Arms officially presented to Synod on September 14, 2000.

Looking for the Anglican Church of Canada? Try here.

The next Provincial Synod will take place June 25th to 28th 2015 in Fredericton. For more information click here Reports, agenda and notices of motion will be posted to that page as they come in, some are already there for you to read.

Off to college or university away from home? Looking for a church or spiritual help in a new place? Click here for a link to campus ministry at colleges and universities in the Ecclesiastical Province of Canada.

Provincial Council met in Corner Brook, Newfoundand, Sept. 19th to 22nd, 2013. To see the work of the Council as reflected in the motions passed please click on this paragraph.

As part of the work mentioned above the Council passed a Provincial Safe Church Regulation which includes a revised Provincial Misconduct Policy and a revised Provincial Privacy Policy. Please click on Provincial Safe Church Regulation read it.

Wording for a Model Diocesan Safe Church Regulation was also passed, which is Schedule C to the Provincial Regulation, click here to see it

This page maintained by:
James T. Sweeny

© 1998-2015
Last Updated: 2015 May 16
Mise à jour : 2015 mai 16