# The Ecclesiastical Province of Canada **Provincial Council**

September 13, 2009 Gander, Diocese of Central Newfoundland

## Minutes

Following the adjournment of Provincial Synod, the new Provincial Council convened.

#### **Present:**

The Rt. Rev. Claude Miller (Fred), Acting Metropolitan; Margaret Jenniex (CNL), Prolocutor; The Ven. Bruce Myers (Qc), Deputy Prolocutor; The Rev. James Pratt (Mtl), Clerical Secretary; James Sweeny (Qc), Lay Secretary; Eric Dryden (Mtl) Treasurer; Charles Ferris (Fred), Chancellor; Central Newfoundland: The Rt. Rev. David Torraville, The Rev. John Watton, Wayne Hallett, Nicole Buffett (Y); Eastern Newfoundland & Labrador: The Rt. Rev. Cyrus Pitman, The Rev. Julie Hiscock, Mr. Moses Tucker, Fredericton: The Ven. Vicars Edward Hodge, Captain Rob Marsh, Ms. Emily Jacobs (Y); Montreal: The Rt. Rev. Barry Clarke, The Ven. Janet Griffith Johnson, Me David Eramian; Nova Scotia & Prince Edward Island: The Rt. Rev. Sue Moxley, The Rt. Rev. Ron Cutler, The Ven. John Clarke, Ms. Penny Lockhart; Quebec: The Rt. Rev. Dennis Drainville, The Rev. Jason Pollick, Mrs. Phyllis Gauthier, Mr. Félix Gaudreau (Y); Western **Newfoundland:** The Rt. Rev. Percy Coffin, The Very Rev. Michael Rice, Irma Moores.

The meeting was called to order by the Prolocutor.

The Prolocutor briefly explained the voting procedure. Ballots were distributed for the election of a Metropolitan. The first ballot was cast.

## Results of the first ballot:

	Bishops	Clergy	Lay
Claude Miller	8	5	6
Sue Moxley		2	5
Cy Pitman		1	2
Percy Coffin		1	1

Bishops Coffin, Pitman and Moxley announced their withdrawal.

The Prolocutor declared Claude Miller elected.

### **Motion 1:**

Moved by: James Sweeny (Qc) Seconded by: David Eramian (Mtl)

That the ballots be destroyed.