Motions for Provincial Synod

Delegates have before them the text of eight substantive motions that will come before the Provincial Synod. Note that the first two of them (a constitutional amendment and a canonical amendment) require supermajority (2/3rds) support among *each* of bishops, clergy and laity in order to be approved.

Further substantive motions may still come before the Synod. You may submit them at any time, with a proposed final deadline of 10:50 am (Atlantic) on Saturday 15 June. Submitting them earlier rather than later allows for easier vetting (for clarity, terminology, a seconder, etc) in the context of an on-line Synod and secures for them a higher place on the agenda, as motions are usually considered in the order received. Note that "No motion that would result in a new expenditure may be considered unless it identifies a proposed source of funding or is qualified as being subject to available funding".

Sections 7 and 8 of the Rules of Order govern motions generally: http://province-canada.anglican.org/rules-of-order-and-procedure/

Please send proposed motions to the Provincial Chancellor at dbell@unb.ca

Officer Nominations

The Synod of the Ecclesiastical Province of Canada has seven officers: Metropolitan, **Prolocutor**, **Deputy Prolocutor**, **Clerical Secretary**, **Lay Secretary**, **Treasurer**, and Chancellor. Descriptions of these offices are found at http://province-canada.anglican.org/provincial-executive/ In addition to the office-holders' formal duties, they are members of the Provincial Council. As well, they convene by Zoom 6-8 times per year as an Executive committee to oversee the Synod's day-to-day affairs and planning.

At our Synod meeting of 14-15 June you will have the opportunity to nominate and be nominated for one of those five elective offices indicated above in **bold**. According to the draft agenda, the deadline for such nominations will be **10:50** (**Atlantic**) on Saturday June 15th.

The Province's rules put the Nomination process into the hands of a large committee (one member per diocese), who would have the luxury of getting together during off-times in a two-day in-person Synod to canvass for nominations. However, the 2021 Provincial Synod, which was held on-line, judged such a process to be unrealistic when meeting virtually. The current Executive committee has reached the same conclusion. Accordingly, and having canvassed all bishops for suggestion of names they would offer, and with a view to Provincial geography, the current executive has taken the step of identifying potential nominees for 4 of the 5 elective Officer positions and obtaining their permission to be nominated. This is not meant to discourage the submission of further nominations – nominations will be solicited at our meeting – but it would avoid a generalized last-minute, on-line scramble.

Emphasizing again that the assembling of nominees is not meant to impair anyone's right to nominate and be nominated for an executive Office, the following have agreed to allow their name to stand.

Prolocutor: The Rev Eli Evans (ENL)

Deputy Prolocutor: Robert MacMillan (NSPEI)

Clerical Secretary: [blank]

Lay Secretary: Clarence Coombs (WN)

Treasurer: Robert Taylor (F)

Please send further nominations to the Synod Secretaries at provincialsynod@gmail.com