The Ecclesiastical Province of Canada Provincial Synod

September 14-17, 2000, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Motions were Carried unless otherwise indicated.

Motion 1

Moved by: The Revd Josiah Noel (E Nfld & Lab)

Seconded by: James Sweeny (Quebec)

That the Revd Alan T Perry (Montreal) be appointed Clerical Secretary, *pro tempore*, for this session of Synod.

Motion 2

Moved by: Donna Parsons (NS/PEI)

Seconded by: The Revd Alan T Perry (Montreal)

That a message of loyalty to the Queen be sent to the Governor General.

Motion 3

Moved by: Donna Parsons (NS/PEI)

Seconded by: The Revd Alan T Perry (Montreal)

That greetings be sent to the Queen Mother on the occasion of her 100th birthday.

Motion 4

Moved by: The Ven John Sharpe (Fredericton)
Seconded by: The Ven Mary Irwin-Gibson (Montreal)

That courtesies of the house be extended to: the Most Revd Michael Peers, the Ven Jim Boyles, Capt Rob Marsh, Mr John Arnold, Mrs Noreen Hareuther.

Motion 5

Moved by: Eric Dryden (Montreal)
Seconded by: Carolyn Chenhall (NS/PEI)

That the minutes of the forty-first session of the Synod of the Ecclesiastical Province of Canada, held October 16-19, 1997, be approved as circulated.

Motion 6

Moved by: Bishop Bill Hockin (Fredericton)
Seconded by: Bishop Donald Harvey (E Nfld & Lab)

That sessional committees be appointed as distributed.

Motion 7

Moved by: The Hon Ronald Stevenson (Fredericton)

Seconded by: James Sweeny (Quebec)

That the deadline for notices of motion be 10:00 a.m., Saturday morning.

Motion 8

Moved by: The Very Revd Glen Burgomaster (NS/PEI)

Seconded by: Bishop Bill Hockin (Fredericton)

That the Synod give a vote of thanks to Archdeacon Boyles and the national staff for their ongoing work on our behalf with respect to the Residential Schools.

Unanimous applause

Motion 9

Moved by: The Hon Ronald Stevenson (Fredericton)

Seconded by: Archbishop Arthur Peters (NS/PEI)

Motion regarding the authority of the General Synod Canons and the establishment of a new National structure for the Anglican Church of Canada in the event the General Synod is unable to continue.

Text distributed with convening circular.

Motion 10

Moved by: Bishop Fred Hiltz (NS/PEI)

Seconded by: The Revd Alan T Perry (Montreal)

That this Synod endorse in principle the Waterloo Declaration of Full Communion between the Anglican Church of Canada and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada, and commend it to the Synods and people of the dioceses in the Province of Canada for study and action in accord with the resolution of approval in principle by General Synod 1998.

Motion 11

Moved by: The Ven Mary Gibson (Montreal)

Seconded by: James Sweeny (Quebec)

That the diocesan and other reports be received as distributed.

Motion 12

Moved by: Harold Wells (Western Nfld)

Seconded by: The Revd Don Young (Central Nfld)

Boundary changes to Western and Central Newfoundland as circulated.

Amendment to Motion 12

Moved by: The Revd Karen Laldin (Western Nfld)

Seconded by: James Sweeny (Quebec)

That the parish of Blanc Sablon be omitted.

Motion 13

Moved by: Cathy Clarke (NS/PEI)
Seconded by: Katie Woodside (NS/PEI)

Motion to change "Nova Scotia" to "Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island" in the Constitution and Canons to reflect the change of the diocese's name. Text circulated with convening circular.

Motion 14

Moved by: The Hon Ronald Stevenson (Fredericton)

Seconded by: James Sweeny (Quebec)

Motion to amend Canon 2(6) as circulated.

Motion 15

Moved by: The Hon Ronald Stevenson (Fredericton)

Seconded by: James Sweeny (Quebec)

Motion to amend Canon 6 as circulated.

Motion 16

Moved by: The Hon Ronald Stevenson (Fredericton)
Seconded by: The Rt Revd Bruce Stavert (Quebec)

Motion to repeal Canon 3 and enact a new Canon 3 as circulated.

Amendment to Motion 16

Moved by: James Sweeny (Quebec)

Seconded by: The Rt Revd Andrew S Hutchison (Montreal)

That the words "or experience" be removed from 4(4) (c) and "or" be inserted between "learning" and "training".

Defeated

Motion 17

Moved by: The Ven John Sharpe (Fredericton)

Seconded by: Harold Wells (W Nfld)

That the acts of Council 1997-1999 be received as distributed.

Motion 18

Moved by: The Ven Mary Irwin-Gibson (Montreal)

Seconded by: The Rt Revd Leonard Whitten (W Nfld)

That the ballots be destroyed.

Motion 19

Moved by: The Rt Revd Bill Hockin (Fredericton)

Seconded by: The Rt Revd Andrew S Hutchison (Montreal)

That \$8000 be added to the 2001 budget to fund ACPO, and that this amount be included in the assessment

Motion 20

Moved by: The Rt Revd Andrew S Hutchison (Montreal) Seconded by: The Ven Mary Irwin-Gibson (Montreal)

That Synod recommend to Council that the national diocesan assessable income system be used as the basis for calculating the Provincial assessment.

Motion 21

Moved by: Eric Dryden (Montreal)

Seconded by: Betty Jane Markham (Fredericton)

That the financial statements be accepted as presented.

Motion 22

Moved by: Susan Winn (Montreal)
Seconded by: Don Rowe (E Nfld & Lab)

Courtesies were extended to Archbishop Michael Peers, to the Venerable Jim Boyles, Archbishop Peters and Mrs Peters, Bishop Fred Hiltz, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island Synod Office staff, volunteers from the host diocese especially John Smith, Randy Townsend, Gerry & Ethel Nelson, and David Boston, Ron Stevenson, Prolocutor, Deputy Prolocutor, Secretaries, Webmaster, Donna Parsons, Her Honour, Myra Freeman, Lieutenant-Governor of Nova Scotia, Dr Robert Pichette, Dauphin Herald Extraordinary, Glen Burgomaster, organist, choir and members of the Cathedral of All Saints, Noreen Hareuther, members of the Order of Deacons, Bishop Don Harvey, Rob Marsh, management and staff of the Lord Nelson Hotel, those who led worship, Canon Pierre Voyer, and to the youth members.